Burr Joins Senate High Tech Task Force

March 9, 2005

Senator Richard Burr announced today that he has joined the Senate Republican High Tech Task Force. The Task Force, made up of thirteen United States Senators, will reach out to the technology community and advise the Republican Caucus on technology issues during the 109th Congress. Priorities for the Task Force include fostering emerging technologies such as biotech and nanotech, protecting cyber security, accelerating broadband deployment and improving our health care infrastructure.

"Our colleges and universities, as well as Piedmont-Triad Research Park and Research Triangle Park, have put North Carolina at the forefront of the high tech community," said Senator Burr. "By serving on the High Tech Task Force, I will work to ensure that North Carolina businesses, educational institutions and health care organizations have a voice in legislation focusing on high tech issues."

Other members of the High Tech Task Force include Senators Wayne Allard (CO), George Allen (VA), Bob Bennett (UT), Norm Coleman (MN), John Cornyn (TX), Orrin Hatch (UT), Conrad Burns (MT), Michael Crapo (ID), Kay Bailey Hutchinson (TX), Gordon Smith (OR), John E. Sununu (NH) and John Thune (SD).

For more information, go to https://www.burr.senate.gov or http://republican.senate.gov/httf.