Senate Passes Burr, Dole Resolution Commending Wake Forest University Men’s Soccer National Championship

Senate resolution honors College Cup title

The U.S. Senate last night passed a resolution commending the Wake Forest Demon Deacons' first ever College Cup in soccer. Senators Burr and Dole sponsored the Senate measure. The Demon Deacons beat the Ohio State Buckeyes 2 to 1 on December 16 at the SAS Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina. The resolution was unanimously approved by the Senate on Tuesday night.

Text of the resolution is below:


Mr. BURR (for himself and Mrs. DOLE) submitted the following resolution;


Commending the Wake Forest University Demon Deacons of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, for winning the 2007 National Collegiate Athletic Association Men's Soccer National Championship.
Whereas the Wake Forest Demon Deacons beat the Ohio State Buckeyes 2-1 to win the finals of the 2007 College Cup;
Whereas, in the 11th minute, Demon Deacon goalkeeper Brian Edwards blocked a close-range shot and defender Lyle Adams cleared the net to prevent the Buckeyes from attempting to score on the rebound;
Whereas Brian Edwards was named the Most Outstanding Defensive Player at the College Cup after making 12 saves in the NCAA Championships and allowing only two goals in five postseason games;
Whereas, in the very next possession, Ohio State's Roger Espinoza scored in the 13th minute;
Whereas Marcus Tracy had the tying goal in the 66th minute, his third of the 2007 College Cup, finishing a run from sophomore Cody Arnoux;
Whereas Zack Schilawski scored the game-winning goal in the 74th minute by taking a cross from Marcus Tracy and firing the center shot from 10 yards out;
Whereas for seniors Julian Valentin, Pat Phelan, Brian Edwards, and Alimer Gonzales, the game marked the end of their college careers;
Whereas Marcus Tracy was named the Most Outstanding Offensive Player at the College Cup after scoring both goals in the 2-0 semifinal win over Virginia Tech, scoring the game-tying goal in the finals against Ohio State, and assisting on the game-winning goal by Zack Schilawski;
Whereas Sam Cronin, Zach Schilawski, and Cody Arnoux were all named to the College Cup All-Tournament Team;
Whereas Wake Forest was represented on the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSAA)/Adidas All- America team by defender Pat Phelan (first team), midfielder Sam Cronin (second team) and forward Cody Arnoux (third team), and was the only school to have a representative on the first, second, and third All-America teams;
Whereas defender Julian Valentin was named to the All-Senior All-America team sponsored by Lowe's;
Whereas Wake Forest's run to the national championship included a second round win over Furman (1-0), a third round win over West Virginia (3-1), a quarterfinal round win over Notre Dame (1-0), and a semifinal round win over Virginia Tech (2-0);
Whereas Wake Forest finished with a 22-2-2 record on the season;
Whereas Wake Forest was the number two seed in the tournament and making its second consecutive College Cup appearance;
Whereas the Demon Deacons have been to 12 NCAA Tournaments including seven straight;
Whereas Wake Forest was ranked first or second in the major soccer polls for the vast majority of the 2007 regular season;
Whereas the NCAA title is the eighth national championship for Wake Forest athletics; and
Whereas the university also holds three titles in field hockey (2002, 2003, 2004), three titles in men's golf (1974, 1975, 1986) and a title in baseball (1955): Now, therefore, be it
Resolved, That the Senate—
(1) applauds the Wake Forest University Demon Deacons men's soccer team for its historic season and championship title;
(2) recognizes the hard work and preparation of 6 the players, head coach Jay Vidovich, and the assistant coaches and support personnel who all played critical roles in this championship; and
(3) requests the Secretary of the Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of the resolution to—
(A) Dr. Nathan 0. Hatch, President of Wake Forest University;
(B) Ron Wellman, Director of Athletics at the University; and
(C) Jay Vidovich, Head Coach.